Book Review! The Ladies of Ivy Cottage by Julie Klassen

Title: The Ladies of Ivy Cottage
Julie Klassen
Release Date: 
December 5, 2017

Series: Tales from Ivy Hill #2

 Description from Goodreads: “Return to Ivy Hill in The Ladies of Ivy Cottage as friendships deepen, romances blossom, and mysteries unfold.

Living with the two Miss Groves in Ivy Cottage, impoverished gentlewoman Rachel Ashford is determined to earn her own livelihood . . . somehow. When the village women encourage her to open a subscription library with the many books she has inherited or acquired through donations, Rachel discovers two mysteries hidden among them. A man who once broke her heart helps her search for clues, but will both find more than they bargained for?

Rachel’s friend and hostess, Mercy Grove, has given up thoughts of suitors and fills her days managing her girls’ school. So when several men take an interest in Ivy Cottage, she assumes pretty Miss Ashford is the cause. Exactly what–or who–has captured each man’s attention? The truth may surprise them all.

Meanwhile, life has improved at the coaching inn and Jane Bell is ready to put grief behind her. Now if only the man she misses would return–but where is he?

As the women of Ivy Hill search for answers about the past and hope for the future, might they find love along the way?”

Review: This book was really good, though it is a slower, more relaxing read. This series is not one that you are unable to put down; rather they are books to read on a nice relaxing weekend or a snowy day.

I love how much I feel that I know each of these amazing women. They are all strong, independent, and rather stubborn; I can feel a kinship with them. Each of them has suffered a great loss or experienced deep pain and struggle with it, while trying to make a life for themselves. This is the kind of motivation I need at times.

Julie Klassen’s writing in this book is incredible. I was able to visualize everything about this story. I felt the pain and humiliation, the joy and triumph, and even the confusion each person experienced.

I enjoy this series and look forward to the next book in this series.


*I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher. A positive review was not required. All opinions are my own.*

Advertisements Share this:
Like this:Like Loading...